4201 Versailles Road P.O. Box 1690
Lexington, Kentucky, 40502


Date: October 07, 07
Purse: 500,000
Grade: 1
Type: T
Distance: 1 1/8 Miles
Age: Three and Up Fillies and Mares

The Spinster Stakes is a thoroughbred horseracing event that is run at a distance of nine furlongs on the left-handed dirt track of Keeneland Race Course, Kentucky. This American horseracing meet is open to three-year-olds and up fillies and mares. This race is a major preparatory race for the Breedersâ Cup Distaff and is considered as one of the most important races for fillies and mares. The stakes at present carries a purse of $500,000 and the American graded committee has graded this stakes as grade I. Bayakoa in 1990 clocked 1:47.00 to set a winning record.

Spinster Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2007 Panty Raid Todd A. Pletcher Garrett Gomez Glencrest Farm 1:51.30
2006 Asi Siempre Patrick L. Biancone Julien Leparoux Martin S. Schwartz 1:51.97
2005 Pampered Princess Martin D. Wolfson Eddie Castro Martin L. Cherry 1:53.91
2004 Azeri D. Wayne Lukas Pat Day Allen E. Paulson 1:49.74
2003 Take Charge Lady Kenneth G. McPeek Edgar Prado Select Stable 1:49.57
2002 Take Charge Lady Kenneth G. McPeek Edgar Prado Select Stable 1:49.90
2001 Miss Linda John Kimmel Richard Migliore Ackerley Brothers Farm 1:49.79
2000 Plenty of Light W. Elliott Walden Garrett Gomez Aaron U. & Marie Jones 1:48.18
1999 Keeper Hill Robert J. Frankel Kent Desormeaux Shug McGaughey 1:47.19
1998 Banshee Breeze Carl Nafzger Robby Albarado James B. Tafel 1:47.00
Click here for more Spinster Stakes Winners