Belmont Park
2150 Hempstead Turnpike
Elmont, New York, 11003


Date: October 01, 11
Purse: $250,000
Grade: 2
Type: T
Distance: 1 Mile
Age: 3 Year Olds and Up
Sex: Both
Turf: turf

The Kelso Handicap is an American grade II horseracing event, which is run annually at Belmont Park. This stake is for thoroughbred horses with an age three and up capable of racing one mile on the turf. The Kelso Handicap is named for the five times Eclipse Award winner Kelso and at present it carries a purse of $250,000. In due course of years, the Kelso Handicap has run in various distances â it was run at a mile and a quarter on the turf from 1984 to 1987 but the distance of the racing event changed to one mile in 1988.

Kelso Handicap Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2011 Uncle Mo 3 Todd Pletcher John Velazquez Reople Stable 1:33.82
2010 Tizway 5 H. James Bond Rajiv Maragh William Clifton Jr. 1:34.42
2009 Le Grand Cru 4 Allen Jerkens Jose Lezcano Judson Streicher 1:37.36
2008 Tam Lin 5 Saeed bin Suroor Javier Castellano Godolphin Racing 1:39.13
2007 Trippi's Storm 4 Stanley M. Hough Javier Castellano E. Paul Robsham Stables 1:32.36
2006 Ashkal Way 5 Saeed bin Suroor Mike Luzzi Godolphin Racing 1:32.07
2005 Funfair 6 H. Graham Motion Edgar Prado Cheveley Park Farm 1:32.95
2004 Mr O'Brien 5 Robin L. Graham Eibar Coa Skeedattle Stable 1:32.69
2003 Freefourinternet 5 Joan Scott Jose Espinoza LLC 1:34.73
2002 Green Fee 6 Daniel Peitz John Velazquez Robert & Lawana Low 1:33.83
Click here for more Kelso Handicap Winners