Saratoga Race Course
Crescent Avenue
Saratoga Springs, New York, 12866


Date: July 27, 08
Purse: 500,000
Grade: 2
Type: T
Distance: 9F
Age: Three Year Olds
Sex: Male
Turf: dirt

The Jim Dandy Stakes is a thoroughbred Grade II horseracing event that takes place every year at the historic Saratoga Race Course. This race is open to three year olds horses willing to run one and one eighth miles on the left handed dirt track. The stakes was christened for three-year-old colt Jim Dandy, who captured a winning title in the Travers Stakes of 1930. The Jim-dandy Stakes is generally run on the first Saturday of July each year during the Saratoga Racing season. This horseracing event is scheduled to race for the forty fifth times in 2008.

Jim Dandy Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2008 Macho Again Dallas Stewart Julien R. Leparoux West Point Thoroughbreds 1:51.16
2007 Street Sense Carl Nafzger Calvin Borel James B. Tafel 1:48.99
2006 Bernardini Thomas Albertrani Javier Castellano Darley Racing 1:50.50
2005 Flower Alley Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Melnyk Racing 1:49.50
2004 Purge Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Starlight Stables et al 1:47.56
2003 Strong Hope Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Melnyk Racing 1:48.10
2002 Medaglia d'Oro Robert J. Frankel Jerry D. Bailey Edmund A. Gann 1:47.82
2001 Scorpion D. Wayne Lukas Jerry D. Bailey Robert Baker 1:48.90
2000 Graeme Hall Todd A. Pletcher Jerry D. Bailey Melnyk Racing 1:48.95
1999 Ecton Park W. Elliott Walden Alex Solis Mark Stanley 1:49.52
Click here for more Jim Dandy Stakes Winners
Jim Dandy Stakes Video