Gulfstream Park
901 S. Federal Highway
Hallandale, Florida, 33009


Date: February 26, 11
Purse: $150,000
Grade: II
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 7 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds
Turf: Dirt

The Hutcheson Stakes is an American horseracing event that is raced annually at a distance of seven furlongs on the dirt track of Gulfstream Park. This grade II horseracing event is open to three-year-old horses and carries a purse of $150,000. As the race is run in the middle of January, this race is considered as one of the preparatory races for the first leg of American Triple Crown â the Kentucky Derby. In 1979, the Hutcheson Stakes was won by Spectacular Bid as also the Kentucky Derby â the same thing happened with Swale in 1984. Capt. Candyman Can posted win in 2009.

Hutcheson Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2011 Flashpoint Richard E. Dutrow, Jr. Cornelio Velasquez Peachtree Stable 1:22.03
2010 D Funnybone Richard E. Dutrow, Jr. Edgar Prado Paul Pompa Jr. 1:22.14
2009 Capt. Candyman Can Ian Wilkes Julien Leparoux Joseph Rauch/David Zell 1:23.96
2008 Smooth Air Bennie Stutts, Jr. Manoel Cruz Mount Joy Stables 1:23.21
2007 King Of The Roxy Todd A. Pletcher Edgar Prado Team Valor 1:28.00
2006 Keyed Entry Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Starlight Stables et al 1:27.12
2005 Proud Accolade Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Padua Stables 1:29.90
2004 Limehouse Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Dogwood Stable 1:22.23
2003 Lion Tamer Todd A. Pletcher John R. Velazquez Michael Tabor 1:22.60
2002 Showmeitall Manny Tortora Jorge Chavez Take Five Stables 1:26.07
Click here for more Hutcheson Stakes Winners