Arlington Park
2200 W. Euclid
Arlington Heights, Illinois, 60006


Date: May 24, 14
Purse: $150,000
Grade: III
Type: T
Distance: 1 3/16 Miles
Age: 3 Year Old
Sex: Both
Turf: Turf

The Arlington Classic Stakes is an American horseracing event that takes place annually at a distance of eight and half furlongs on the left handed turf track of Arlington Park. This stake is open to thoroughbred horses with age three. The Arlington Classic used to draw the best three year olds in the country and was the richest race in America. On November 28th, 2007, this Grade III stakes was downgraded by the American graded stakes committee. This stakes is one of the Mid-American Triple races held in Arlington â the other two races are American Derby and Secretariat Stakes.

Arlington Classic Stakes Winners
Year Winner Age Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2013 General Election Kellyn Gorder Joseph Rocco, Jr. WinStar Farm 1:45.48
2012 Silver Max Dale Romans Shaun Bridgmohan Bacon/Wells 1:41.87
2011 Willcox Inn Michael Stidham Robby Albarado All In Stable 1:49.51
2010 Workin for Hops Michael Stidham Robby Albarado Estrorace LLC 1:45.43
2009 Giant Oak Chris M. Block Eusebio Razo, Jr. Virginia H. Tarra Trust 1:43.59
2008 Meal Penalty Todd Pletcher Jose Velez, Jr. Sassafras Racing/Gulf Coast Farms 1:41.97
2007 Pleasant Strike Todd A. Pletcher Rene Douglas Edward P. Evans 1:42.05
2006 Kingship Ronny Werner Robby Albarado Oxbow Racing 1:43.57
2005 Purim Thomas F. Proctor Mark Guidry Edward J. Sukley 1:42.65
2004 Toasted Laura de Seroux Rene Douglas Sidney L. Port 1:50.91
Click here for more Arlington Classic Stakes Winners